PDA

View Full Version : Question about the route between Miami and Buenos Aires...

GreenEyedTraveler
14th Jun 2009, 01:07
Hello,

I am a newcomer to this forum. I hope that I am posting this in the appropriate place.

I am not a pilot, or otherwise working in any field related to aviation. My father worked in the aviation field (as an engineer) his entire life. I've been flying (as a passenger) since I was an infant (actually, since I was in-utero :p). What I am, is a traveler. I have no idea how many air-miles I've logged as such - I suspect it is somewhere in the area of 500,000+.

However, I'm a nervous flier. As a mechanical engineer, I understand intellectually how safe it is to fly. That doesn't change my irrational fear of it though.

Having said all of this, I pose a question for all others here:

When flying from Miami to Buenos Aires, do the airlines fly through the "ITCZ"?

My next international destination is Beunos Aires. I have never flown that far South in the world (Caracas is as far South as I've been). My concern, of course, has to do with the Air France disaster. If someone here could be so kind as to tell me what the flight path is from Miami to Buenos Aires, I would appreciate it. Is it primarily over land, once you get to South America?

Thank you.

Bullethead
14th Jun 2009, 02:07
G'day GET,

Basically any time you fly through the tropics and over the equator you're pretty much going to pass through the ITCZ. I have passed through the ITCZ many many times over the last 30 years or so and it can be done quite safely and is done by hundreds of airliners every day and night.

The picture shows the great circle track from Miami to Buenos Aires, which as you say is mostly over land.

http://gc.kls2.com/cgi-bin/gcmap?PATH=kmia-saez

Regards and enjoy BA,
BH.

GreenEyedTraveler
14th Jun 2009, 02:48
Thank you Bullethead.