PDA

View Full Version : carriage of compressed CO2 gas cylinders

Fun Police
1st Jun 2009, 18:14
hi all,
since fire season is looming in north america, does anyone know off hand if the small CO2 cylinders that are used with personal floatation devices can be carried in checked luggage on the airlines. these are the ones that are about the length of an index finger and slightly larger in diameter than ones thumb (unless you are freakishly large i wouldn't think that they would present a problem, but i work in the private sector so what makes sense to me will probably be against the law):rolleyes:.
thanks as always,
FP

rufus.t.firefly
1st Jun 2009, 18:19
Check with the airline , or take a look at the IATA Dangerous Goods By Air
Manual if you have access , probably best to ask direct in case it needs specific packing for transport.

Your own national Aviation Authority - DG /Safety Department should also be able to advise - just ask them:ok:

Gordy
1st Jun 2009, 18:53
According to 49 CFR 175.10(a)(11), (http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?c=ecfr&rgn=div5&view=text&node=49:2.1.1.3.10&idno=49#49:2.1.1.3.10.1.25.5) they are allowed with the approval of the airline. You may wish to print this out AND call the airline first:

49 CFR 175.10(a)(11) A self-inflating life jacket fitted with no more than two small gas cartridges (containing no hazardous material other than a Div. 2.2 gas) for inflation purposes plus no more than two spare cartridges. The lifejacket and spare cartridges may be carried in carry-on or checked baggage, with the approval of the aircraft operator.

Edited to add---Why don't you put some cartridges on your support vehicles, and that way when you fly in for relief you can just put these into your personal vest if you have one. We just have jackets on each aircraft and share them, so the issue never arises.