PDA

View Full Version : I think I cheesed off Gloucester tower yesterday for going around

Glasswasher Man
31st May 2009, 14:54
Hello , I am a student Pilot.

Yesterday I did two landings with my instructor, then he proceeded to taxi to the pumps to let me loose on my own. As I took off and climbed upwind, turbulence got worse. got to finals, then went around because there was an aircraft on the runway still at 300'.

On final again, went around about 400' because there was an aircraft on the runway and turbulence was bad and my profile was not good, I banged my head on the ceiling causing me to go dizzy. I called going around, and the tower said "is there a problem?" I said "aircraft on the runway", to which I was told "you could have made it you had 1/4 mile".

I thought to myself "this is too rough for me" so I called downwind to land.

Tower then rang my school and apparently asked if I was nervous!

What did I do wrong here?
Help.:ugh:

Bullethead
31st May 2009, 15:10
What did I do wrong here?

Nothing at all Glasswasher, if you're not happy with your approach then go around and have another go. :ok:

The fact that you made the decision to go around twice because you were not happy to continue shows that you are not prepared to take unnecessary risks and have the presence and maturity to make the correct choice.

I did one recently, a go around that is, for the same reason, an aeroplane still on the runway, and I've got over 18,000 hours and fly B767s. It still happens from time to time.

Of course I had to explain to the passengers what was going on but all you need to say to the tower is exactly what you posted. An aeroplane was still on the runway and you weren't happy to continue.

Good luck with the rest of your training.

Regards,
BH.

liam548
31st May 2009, 15:23
I went around on my first solo. Go around if you aint happy.The other thread showing the video of the twin coming to rest on the beech instead of the runway is proof of that!