PDA

View Full Version : Any tuggies out there?

mary meagher
3rd Apr 2009, 20:45
Any tuggies out there? Towing up gliders, or banners. I've been pulling up gliders with a PA18 for 20 years now, and only just learned how possibly to avoid cooking cylinders with more intelligent use of the CHT gauge.

Love to hear from others, your tips and problems.

IFMU
4th Apr 2009, 00:14
I think there are a bunch of us. I've been tugging for about 15 years, in super cubs and pawnees. In my current club we have not had problems with cooked cylinders, in my old club we had a little trouble. Very similar techniques in both clubs, must have been some difference somewhere else, maybe in the quality of the engine baffling. Both clubs we tend to let down at 2400 in either type, and have not had troubles with cracked cylinders.

-- IFMU

MIKECR
4th Apr 2009, 06:26
Been a tuggie for 4 or 5 years and no cracked cylinder's, as yet!

Deeday
4th Apr 2009, 11:52
only just learned how possibly to avoid cooking cylinders with more intelligent use of the CHT gauge.
So, how do you avoid cooking cylinders with more intelligent use of CHT gauge? I suppose your knowledge would be useful to non-tuggies as well, if you could share it. Thanks!

mary meagher
4th Apr 2009, 15:41
Thanks for your replies, IFMU from the NE US, Mike CR of the Uk, and Deeday.

Deeday, pulling up gliders one after the other gives the poor old Lycoming a lot of stress, and it gets huffy after 8 or 900 hrs if one does not avoid shock cooling. I had correctly been gentle on throttling back after the glider has departed, keeping an eye on the CHT and progressively reducing power in the descent. If the next glider is ready to leave immediately, no problem.
But they almost never are, so you sit around for 20 minutes or so. By that time the oil is still warm, but the CHT has cooled right down. Especially on a chilly day. I used to think if the oil was warm, good enough.