PDA

View Full Version : Storm Window

RTN11
19th Mar 2009, 19:04
What is the "storm window" for on piper aircraft?

I've asked a few instructors and heard a few theories but never had a definitive answer. Can't seem to find out online either.

Mike744
19th Mar 2009, 19:23
I understand its also known as a DV (Direct View?)
I'm just a student but it's uses so far are: open it to shout 'clear prop'
plus gives a perfect view for a photo opportunity. Suspect its main use is when the screen visibility is reduced for whatever reason then you can at least have some unrestricted view via the DV window.
I'd be interested to know if I'm right?

18greens
19th Mar 2009, 19:26
Its also called the DV panel or direct vision panel.

If the windscreen freezes up or gets covered in oil you pop the panel open and hey presto you can see the runway.

Also useful for tapping your ash out and if the door opens in flight open the panel to make the door easier to close.

Never heard it called a storm window.

Islander2
19th Mar 2009, 19:26
If you try peeing out of it your rear-seat passengers will confirm that it's appropriately named. ;)

RTN11
19th Mar 2009, 20:17
I had heard it referred to as a DV panel, but was told it stood for Direct Ventilation so if the main door opens during flight, you open the little window and it makes the main door easier to close because of the pressure.

Not so sure why it's called a storm window, but i've seen in on piper documents so it is an official name. Not sure what help it would be in a storm.

so many uses for a small flap.

Rightbase
19th Mar 2009, 20:18
1. So you can reach in and turn off the master switch after checking the lights, stall warner and pitot heat and before the battery is too flat to start it on a cold day.

2. So the dwarf sitting in front of the nose wheel not wearing a high vis jacket can hear your 'clear prop' call.