PDA

View Full Version : Question re. the Gimli Glider

stepwilk
3rd Mar 2009, 21:18
I'm a writer doing a brief piece on the infamous Gimli Glider--the Air Canada 767-200 that ran out of fuel due in part to a liters/gallons mixup. I'm a pilot, but my experience only stretches as far as a Cessna Citation type rating, so my experience with RATs is nonexistent.

Question: Several of the accounts I've read of the incident say that the controls became more and more difficult to use as the airplane slowed to best-glide speed because the ram-air turbine didn't produce as much "hydraulic pressure" at low speeds as it did when extended into higher-speed airflow.

Is this possible? I should think a RAT produced electricity that either ran the hydraulic pumps or didn't. (They didn't have to power a whole lot of other stuff, as it was daytime and good weather.)

fleigle
3rd Mar 2009, 21:31
I don't know the specifics of the RAT on the 767, but sometimes RATs produce electrical AND hydraulic power.
I'm sure you could google it.
f

Jetdoc
4th Mar 2009, 00:22
I used to work on that aircraft. The RAT only supplied hydraulic power. At low airspeeds, the RAT output decreases due to the fact that the RAT prop is not being turned fast enough.

extreme P
4th Mar 2009, 03:31
130 knots is minimum speed for the RAT to do it's job.

BelArgUSA
4th Mar 2009, 04:42
Canada went through the convertion to metric, sometimes in the 1980s...
Back then, I often landed in Gander for refueling. They asked "how many liters"...
My flight engineers had to suffer converting POUNDS to VOLUME.
Many were confused by the difference of IMPERIAL gallons to US gallons.
xxx
So after 27.5 minutes of advanced mathematics, we got a number.
My flight engineer said "we will take xxx Imperial Liters"...
I do not think our Canadian friends appreciated his American humor...
xxx
:rolleyes:
Happy contrails

P.S. -
Have you ever been stuck in YQX...? You would love it.