PDA

View Full Version : PPL H Dispirited

_Obiwan
1st Mar 2009, 21:27
Apologies if this is in the wrong place. I have been working toward my PPLH for about 18 months now. Have about 35 hours but I seem to have long period when I can't fly usually due to the weather. I can usually spare 2-3 hours per week but often manage about 1 in 4 lessons. Am I normal? :confused:

Will it ever end?

Whirlygig
1st Mar 2009, 21:32
You sound fairly normal but the weather isn't. We've had some rubbish summers and a cold winter; sounds normal.

Unfortunately, an hour a fortnight means that your progress will be slower as you may have to spend time relearning stuff. If you can, take some time off work when the weather's looking better and consolidate with full-time flying.

Cheers

Whirls

_Obiwan
1st Mar 2009, 21:34
Thanks Whirls. I aim to do at least 5 hours a fortnight (3 one week 2 the next) but it isn't happening at mo due to the weather. You're suggestion of stepping up in the good weather seems good to me.
KR
Obiwan

windowseatplease
1st Mar 2009, 21:44
You're not alone, I had many students who were "time poor", and constantly battling the british weather. All I can say, is try to fly at least once a week, and if you can't fly, get your head in the books and get all the 7 PPL exams done, because that will REALLY help you later. Many people end up ready for their test and they have only passed 2 exams.

Keep at it...

_Obiwan
1st Mar 2009, 21:47
Thanks I appreciate the encouragement :)

nigelh
1st Mar 2009, 22:48
Why not take a week off and do it in USA ? You could get your FAA licence in that time and it is a far more useful one than the CAA i am afraid. No really daft day long type ratings , no extra night rating and if you buy a heli got yourself over here it will probably be much cheaper on the N as well . (not that it makes any difference as you can fly N or G in this country on your FAA licence) I think the medial may last up to 3 yrs as well versus 2 but may be wrong.....