PDA

View Full Version : Flying Schools

mr_rodge
26th Feb 2009, 21:53
Hi there, just a quickie.

I've been looking at flying schools for doing my PPL (I'm a novice) and was just wondering which is the better school (If anyone has any experience of them). The Sheffield Flying School is one of them, operating from Doncaster and Sandtoft, and the other is the Humber Flying Club. The latter is considerably cheaper for lessons etc. but what are the recommendations for flying schools? I'm from Doncaster and if there are any others in the area, let me know!

Thanks.

Mickey Kaye
27th Feb 2009, 06:34
Where in South Yorkshire are you?

Sherburn a nice place to fly from and Full Sutton must be the best value place around thier Cessna 150 is 78 quid and their pa-28 85 pounds per hour. Ontop of that you got to add 20 quid for instruction. It may save you a little money if yoiu are prepaired to travel further.

mr_rodge
27th Feb 2009, 09:54
Hi,
Thanks for the quick reply. I don't mind travelling an hour or two, and I'm in between Doncaster/Rotherham/Barnsley. That's great, by the way. Thanks for the help.

eltonioni
27th Feb 2009, 10:01
Then go to Netherthorpe (http://www.sheffieldaeroclub.net/) and learn to fly properly for less money. ;)

Captain-Random
27th Feb 2009, 11:50
i'd recommend Sherburn Aero Club. Quite Cheap, 3 grass and 1 tarmac runway for most wind directions. very friendly

julian_storey
27th Feb 2009, 13:27
In my view the choice of airfield and or flying school is very much a secondary consideration to the choice of instructor.

In my experience you will get better value for your money from an experienced, career instructor who's instructing because they enjoy it, than you will from a low hour newbie who is only instructing because they have to until they get enough hours for an airline job.

You're going to be spending quite a bit of money, so do some research, go to a few places, chat to several instructors and go with the one you get on with the best.