PDA

View Full Version : Where Next?

KingCooky
23rd Feb 2009, 12:12
hey guys, first thread onthe forum so here goes.......

im sure this question has been answered a million times before but i really need some guidance and direction.

I have a JAA PPL (with night rating for what its worth!) and im interested in persuing a professional aviation career.

with lack of funds to go ahead and commit to weeks of training ab intio for an ATPL i could do with some clues as to where to go next considering i work a 9-5 (well 9 - 3.30, im a school teacher and such can afford to train intensively during July and August)

Any help whatsoever would be much appreciated.

King Regards

Russ

Mach086
23rd Feb 2009, 12:22
Next step is hours building. Could do the atply studies too.

It is possible to do 100 hours building over the summer providing there is availability. I've heard that most people fly 4-5 hours a day for hours building.

If funds are lacking, then I guess you would do the atpl studies via Distance Learning over 13 months.

CPL/IR/ME comes next. 6 month sabbatical could be good. Whethe rit can be done on weekends? I can't say. probably best to hear from people that have gone down that route.

GusHoneybun
23rd Feb 2009, 15:04
Hi Russ,

First thing you should get sorted is your Class 1 medical as this is a potential show stopper. This can only be done at Gatwick and takes about half a day. Last time I checked this was £317.

Once this is in the bag then there are two areas you will need to concentrate on first. One is fun the other is not so much fun.

The fun bit is hour building. I don't know how many hours you have, but most people need to build about 100 hours from PPL to start a CPL course. Obviously, there are a few ways to build hours, so here are a few I looked at when in your situation.