PDA

View Full Version : Heading to SE Coast any Suggestions?

HLloyd26
19th Feb 2009, 22:27
Hi,

Weather permitting I am hoping to fly down from Denham to somewhere on SE coast over the next few days. Well not necessarily the coast but that neck of the woods, seems to be plenty of smaller grass strips inland but I’m am a bit apprehensive about using them in the winter months. At first glance looks like my main options for hard r/ws are Lydd and Manston. Was wondering if someone could recommend either of these or somewhere else in the area?

Thanks very much.

p.s. I'm a novice PPL so not looking for anything too challenging at this stage.

belowradar
20th Feb 2009, 08:00
I recommend Bembridge on the Isle Of Wight

Good runway and just a short hop over the Solent and easy to find (due south of Denham) , great day trip destination with nice pub just a short cab ride away (ask in the tower).

Good confidence builder and fun. Remember to bring a life jacket just in case.

Duchess_Driver
20th Feb 2009, 08:29
...Please, don't head south from Denham. Head West first, then south. Heathrow tend to get a bit upset otherwise!:)

Try Shoreham......Hard runways and taxiways. Nice cafe at the airport. Lydd also, but haven't been there since the new bits were open!

Midland Transport
20th Feb 2009, 10:27
I suggest Shoreham.Very good tower and nice facility. You can also get a Radar service from Farnborough who are very excellent which as a novice will be really helpful to you. If you do go to Bembridge make sure you read the Solent/Southampton info and stay well clear of the Southampton Zone.

mattuk1
20th Feb 2009, 11:36
Shoreham's definitely the place to go ;)
Think a full-stop is around £17.50 and there's a nice cafe/restaurant as stated.

FYI grass runways are u/s at the moment so you'll be on the hard surface 02/20. :ok:

Genghis the Engineer
20th Feb 2009, 12:24