PDA

View Full Version : Jumpseat trips - are they actually as rare as people think?

Quintilian
16th Feb 2009, 19:40
Hi!

Over the last few years I've gotten the impression that cockpit-visits aren't really allowed anymore. However during the past 14 months I've had 20 jumpseat trips out of a total of 23 flights.

I'm an ATC student in Sweden, but I've only been asked to show my student-ID on approx half the occasions I've flown.

Usually I just enter the cockpit after asking the Flight-attendants if I "may ask the pilots a question?", and ask the flight crew for the JS.

So long I've JS'ed in 737 (classic + NG, MD80, A319, BA146 and hoping for the Q400 next weekend :)

Have I been unusually lucky, or is it still generally possible to get the JS-experience out there?

/TH

5Y NJB
16th Feb 2009, 19:48
I think it's largely a question of luck. As far as I am aware, the "cockpit visit" rules are airline-dependent (although I am happy to be corrected on this); my boyfriend's a skipper and I know that even he is not allowed to jumpseat on flights he isn't crewing - that's how stringent the rules are in his company. Cockpit visits during flight = instant dismissal. However, other airlines appear to have different rules.

I fly a lot with a certain (East African) airline and am always jumpseating :)

Maybe your "luck" in this department is down to you being an ATC student? If I recall correctly, quite a number of airlines are happy to allow ATCOs and ATC students to jumpseat.

raffele
16th Feb 2009, 20:21
I'm not a professional but I believe I'm right in saying that when overflying the UK, only the flight crew actually on duty are allowed to enter the cockpit, meaning jumpseating's impossible. Which leads me to say you're incredibly lucky...

aviatordom
17th Feb 2009, 08:08
I'm not a pilot (yet)