PDA

View Full Version : HU-34 v. HU-1

Madbob
10th Dec 2008, 14:47
I suppose I could get my question answered by a PM to SASless but prompted by a recent re-read of "Chickenhawk" I thought I wouls ask if anyone has done a comparison of these two venerable support helos and their contribution to the war in Vietnam.

On first pass they are of similar vintage, both single engine (one piston the other turbine), both two pilot (plus crew in the back) and if anything, the Choctaw (HU-34) had the edge over the Huey in load-lifting and internal cabin size.

The real question is which was the preferred mount by their crew (and pax) and which offered greater "survivability" when being shot at? Personally, as a pilot I think I would prefer having a big radial engine in the front as at least it would be able to take hits better than a perspex chin bubble which is what would have been in the way when flying the same profile in a Huey!

I appreciate you won't be able to compare the earlier HU-34 against the Wessex with twin Gnomes, oodles of power and twin-engine reliability but the Wessex seems to have done a good job in NI, the Falklands and other places as a good SH platform though it was never produced in comparable numbers.

I hope that this stirs up some fond memories and provokes a comment or two over something more that the merits of wheels v. skids!

MB

SASless
10th Dec 2008, 16:12
Sort of hard to compare the two....the old 34 had an autopilot with altitude hold...big ol' radial engine that sounded great....had a single door....sat high on wheels...had a fully articulated rotor head and was smooth as glass when tracked right. A real pilot's machine. If it had been updated with a good strong turbine engine it would have beat the Huey in all regards. (My opinion!)