PDA

View Full Version : Who decides our level of pay?

detonate
4th Dec 2008, 10:10
So, who is responsible for so many people leaving the mob for more money? What criteria do these people use for paying us the wage we currently receive?
Personally, as a TG1 technician, I'm a touch envious of the wages that people I used to work alongside of as equals, now receive in civvy street.
When I went into the AFCO nearly 7years ago, I asked "so how much will I get paid?".
As I recall, the reply was "You'll get paid roughly what you would in civvy street for the same job, plus an 'X' factor to make up for the rigours and inconveniences of service life". Okay then, since when did a humble civilian clerk get paid the same as fully trained Aircraft Technician? When did a civvy restaurant cook get paid the same as a civvy copper?

Have we been duped? I think so.

airborne_artist
4th Dec 2008, 10:16
The AFPRB (http://www.ome.uk.com/review.cfm?body=3) reviews pay and associated issues every year.

The Helpful Stacker
4th Dec 2008, 10:21
When did a civvy restaurant cook get paid the same as a civvy copper?

I believe some chefs get paid a damn sight more than civvy coppers.

Of course how much is job security worth to you? Lots of ex-sooties down at RR Derby aren't looking too happy at the moment and such job losses aren't restricted to those who fix or build the donks.

CirrusF
4th Dec 2008, 10:34
I think service personnel are quite well paid, when the allowances, pension and job-security are taken into account.

Civvy wages might appear higher on paper, but mostly you have to pay for your own pension, you receive no contributions for kids education, and worse you have next to no job security. The cost of losing a job is very high, particularly if you have to sell up and relocate, and that is not counting the cost of stress on family life. Never under-estimate the worth of a secure job.

NUFC1892
4th Dec 2008, 10:35