PDA

View Full Version : Darned Computers

Lancelot37
23rd Nov 2008, 22:23
Computers have been around a good time now, but they still can't get things right.

A few weeks ago I bought a new decent spec Dell (I'm not criticising them) and all was going well.
Today my DVD was no longer recognised. Un-useable. I tried for hours to get the computer to recognise the DVD drive. No driver updates worked. Removing and re-installing the drivers etc. failed to work. Checked the Dell Help site and that of Microsoft. Hundreds of people seem to be having problems with drives not being recognised.

Tonight I remembered that there was an update for Apple iTunes yesterday. Think it was about 73MB. I removed Apple iTunes and hey presto, everything is back to normal.
I'm no computer expert but have played around with them for years. I hate to think how much trouble a novice would have and the costs that they might incur trying to sort such a problem.

Saab Dastard
23rd Nov 2008, 22:36
I sometimes think that it would be useful to substitute "cars" for "computers" in a piece like yours, Lancelot37!

That's not meant as a criticism, in any way - I agree with you.

SD

Lancelot37
23rd Nov 2008, 23:07
I sometimes think that it would be useful to substitute "cars" for "computers" in a piece like yours, Lancelot37!
======================================

Indeed so. in my day, in the 50s/60s70s you could strip a carb at the roadside and effect a repair. These days you would need a degree just to open the bonnet. And once it was open you would not know what you were looking at. Progress? I wonder.