PDA

View Full Version : Comfort levels?

wingisland
19th Nov 2008, 18:02
Just wondering, how comfortable is a modern jast jet, i've never even got close to flying one but i understand your strapped in tight (for ejection seat etc) and i for one like to move my legs quite a bit when i'm flying. Is it a real pain when you get an itchy back?

Also is there a more comfortable jet, ie is the ultra modern typhoon more comfortable with a massage setting and heated seats compared to an old workhorse which is like sitting on two bits of sheet metal for hours?

Pontius Navigator
19th Nov 2008, 18:07
Now this could run and run.

BluntM8
19th Nov 2008, 20:42
Assuming that this is not a wah...

Wingisland, I've been flying on ejection seats for a few years, and although they are not that great, they aren't that uncomfortable either. There isn't really any padding, since it would compress and the seat would schwack your arse when it fired, so you get the occasional numb-bum after a couple of hours. You sit quite upright in most jets too. The straps aren't super-tight like you'd imagine. It's the lapstrap which holds you too the seat, mostly, so that needs to be tight, but the shoulder straps only need to be firm. I've always told pax that they need to be like a medium rucksack, no tighter. The shoulder straps have a ratchet you can release which makes them like a car seatbelt on an inertia reel, which helps too. The rest of the stuff you don't really notice - the leg restraints and arm restraints are easy to get used to. Even the g-pants are alright too. The imersion suit, on the other hand!

You can't move your legs all over, but certainally in the tornado it is easy to get loads of room. The foot rests go a long way forward and the cockpit is quite spacey. Sadly the hawk wasn't so roomy and my fat arse seemed to get cramped in the most uncomfortable places! An itchy back is fine, but try itching your gentlemans area through the many layers of kit!

Hope this helps.

Blunty.