PDA

View Full Version : ICAO definitions or applications

Foggy Bottom
19th Nov 2008, 07:37
How does ICAO define "international commercial air transport"? If I am flying an N registered aircraft in Peru, but strictly within the borders of Peru, am I considered being involved in "international commercial air transport"? I am not operating across any international borders, and am not holding myself out to do so.

Can someone point me to a definitive part of ICAO regs or a finding?

Bravo73
19th Nov 2008, 09:01
I can't point you towards the specific regs, I'm afraid, but surely any 'N' reg flying outside of the USA would be considered 'international'?

JimL
19th Nov 2008, 10:02
Foggy Bottom,

You would have to look principally in the ICAO Convention on International Civil Aviation - it is unlikely that you will find the answers you seek in any of the Annexes. It will also be necessary to look in the Primary Legislation of both States.

in General (as I am not a lawyer):

You need to provide more information; what exactly are the operations you are conducting - are they General Aviation (GA) - i.e. private, or commercial? It is generally accepted that you are operating Internationally if conducting operations outside the boundaries of the State of Registration (not just when crossing the border).

If the aircraft is N registered and flying in Peru for GA; you should be flying: in compliance with the relevant Parts of FARs; the more stringent of the Rules of The Air as defined by the FAA, ICAO or Peru; or the more stringent of the operational requirements provided by the FAA or Peru.