PDA

View Full Version : Vref & landing

Spam Up
12th Nov 2008, 10:53
Hello All

Whats is the correct speed for landing a jet ? It has been suggested to me that you should land at Vref !

Im new to a jet and my technique for landing has always been Vref over the threshold and then, it becomes a visual thing.
So in my new type (Hawker 800) I maintain Vref till over the threshold and then when I hear the 20ft call I slowly reduce the power - level off and catch the sink with a bit of nose up which gives a nose up attitude for landing, this way of course the speed bleeds off and on a couple of occasions a fraction of a sec before landing the stall warner has sounded (is this wrong ?), I thought this would be a good thing as it means you are landing at a slow speed and making the most of aerodynamic drag.

Look forward to your replys !!

Spam Up

Spam Up
12th Nov 2008, 11:15
When I say a fraction of a second, I really mean a fraction !

so tell me then , why is it okay in a C172 and not anything else, im still getting good landings with this technique ?

Spam Up

BOAC
12th Nov 2008, 11:45
Vref is supposed to be the min speed at ?50ft' on finals, and I have always been taught that this SHOULD be bled off towards touchdown, and touchdown SHOULD occur at a minimum of Vref-5 - although the shrieks and yells from the other seat stop me doing that!:) Indeed, for the B737, Boeing confirm the above.

slam_dunk
12th Nov 2008, 11:51
Correct (Boeing)technique :

Keep FAS : Vref + X ( for winds <= 10 knots : 5kts) until crossing the threshold, thereafter bleed off the speed during the flare.
For gusty winds the correction "X" to Vref would be 1/2 the steady wind + the gust with a maximum of 20 kts.

Why not VRef crossing the threshold ? to have some margin above the stallspeed.

Kelly Hopper
12th Nov 2008, 11:52
Ummm. The stall warning in a Hawker is the stick shake!!!