Capn Notarious
12th November 2008, 00:14
I have recieved email offers for manhood enhancing products.
The source email sender is the same as recieving address, MINE.
So how has some -**- been able to add a product to my email?
AVG has swept.
Operating system is XP.
Microsoft Office 2003
BT home hub.
Ethernet Hard Wired
Any suggestions, and if the answers lay in the FAQ's. I did look.
Saab Dastard
12th November 2008, 00:56
email - SMTP specifically - is just fundamentally insecure, unfortunately. The "from" field can be absolutely anything the sender wishes.
Spammers can simply insert the recipient email address as the sender, which is what you have seen.
The good news is that it doesn't necessarily mean that your email account has been compromised - the bad news is that your address has obviously got onto a spam list, but then most email addresses do!
SD
jimtherev
12th November 2008, 00:59
Hi Capn,
Spammers have more than a few tools to fox the casual recipient - hence the number of phishing emails you get supposedly from banks, nigerian millionaires & so on. If you download the headers you can look more closely at the origin.
For example, below I've copied the header from a recent mail in my spam.
This was a genuine one: I've deleted phishers & so don't have one to show you. But you will see that many have a number of 'hops' in them - i.e. they are relayed through several machines, and you get 'received from xxx'; 'received from yyy'. The bottom one might give a clue to the originator.
In Google Chrome you right-click the sender, then click 'View page source'; in Outlook right click again and then click 'options'. In the latter case, the headers are in a box at the bottom of the pop-up.
It might give some idea of the origin of your spam... but, then again it probably won't :E.
Have fun,
Jim
X-AOL-UID: 3155.1007080134X-AOL-DATE: Mon, 10 Nov 2008 10:59:01 AM Eastern Standard TimeReturn-Path: <xxx.e17@<hidden>>Received: from rly-dd06.mx.aol.com (rly-dd06.mail.aol.com [172.19.141.153]) by air-dd06.mail.aol.com (v121_r4.4) with ESMTP id MAILINDD061-b7f49185a221a8; Mon, 10 Nov 2008 10:58:58 -0500Received: from smtprelay.hostedemail.com (smtprelay0150.hostedemail.com [216.40.44.150]) by rly-dd06.mx.aol.com (v121_r4.4) with ESMTP id MAILRELAYINDD061-b7f49185a221a8; Mon, 10 Nov 2008 10:58:27 -0500Received: from filter.hostedemail.com (ff-bigip1 [10.5.19.254])
Capn Notarious
12th November 2008, 18:16
Thank you kindly.