PDA

View Full Version : Good time to start training?

sunny441
19th Oct 2008, 22:53
hello friends:

up until now age used to be the factor - i am almost 28 and have always wanted to be a commercial pilot. I finally decided to go for it - and wanted to start sometime in January and get my PPL thru CPL. i have a bachelors degree in softwre engineering

but looking at the economy and the way the market stands - esp in my home country of india.. am scared to go ahead.

what do u guys think? is this a good time to get started? or just sit by and wait. or just totally forget the idea and be happy with IT?

cheers

Whirlygig
19th Oct 2008, 23:00
Assuming you're thinking of the modular (and it sounds as if you are), then it's not so much when you start but when you finish that matters as far as the economy and job market go!

PPL, hour building and exams all take time and I would suggest you do these at a leisurely pace whilst still working and saving!

Cheers

Whirls

Aerospace101
19th Oct 2008, 23:14
as i have already mentioned tonight;

I think the best advice is to time it that you START training when you can actually see things recovering; ie fATPL getting jobs. Its not like in one day we go from no jobs to flood gates open. It takes around 2yrs from the first trickle of fATPLs into airlines to full on recruitment. In those 2 yrs you could quite happily get the training done.

Starting when things look grim is STUPID. Whats to say they still look grim for when you finish, or for the many months/yrs after you finish...

AlphaMale
19th Oct 2008, 23:27
Nothing stopping you from getting your PPL now but I'd hold off on starting your ATPL Ground School exams until we start seeing some light at the end of the tunnel.

Like you I am in the IT sector and the longer I keep my head down in the office the more I earn. I have an interview coming up soon which will take me into contracting and earning more than a Turbo Prop Captain (if I get the job).