View Full Version : Training in the U.S and some advice!!!

callum
16th Sep 2008, 21:58
hi guys, im nearly 16 and have always wanted to become a commercial pilot. i have got backing from both of my parents and shold be getting the grades i need. my question is if i do my jaa ppl,atpl in the U.S will it be hard or even impossible to get employed when i return to the uk.

p.s are there any pilots here that live in bermondsey, rotherhithe SE london and if there is any chance we can meet and have a chat.

thanks
callum

JohnGV
17th Sep 2008, 03:18
Hi callum,

Im in canada, I gained my PPL out here and will be returnin in october, i live in west sussex.

Im not a professional but if you wanted to talk to someone who has experience of the Canadian/US setup Id be more than happy to meet you for a chat, id even love to take you flyin if you like??!!

Talk soon man
JV

greenslopes
17th Sep 2008, 03:25
Ask the U.K CAA I landed in the U.K with an Australian ATPL with 5000Hrs on Turbo props and had to do all the exams again in order to achieve the U.K ATPL. So whilst it may be cheaper to get the hours O'seas the O'seas licence may not count at all towards the UK/JAR licence.
Good luck and speak to the authorities directly as they will provide the most correct info.

callum
17th Sep 2008, 07:11
okn thanks for that advice guys. the CAA headquaters is not too far from me so do you think its worth goin down there.

INNflight
17th Sep 2008, 07:30
Hi Callum,

The US licenses are FAA.

The European ones are JAA.

Hence, if you do your JAA training in the USA (only a few flight training organisations are approved to do that, maybe 4 or 5 at the moment), you can return to Europe and won't have a problem (generally, getting the first employment is hard of course).

All JAA licenses will be valid in Europe, no matter if you got them in the UK, the US or South Africa :ok:

callum
17th Sep 2008, 08:45