PDA

View Full Version : Army Air Corps

UglyOneOne
7th Sep 2008, 20:11
After a number of different answers to the following question I feel that a true and sensical answer needs giving...

Do you have to be an Officer to be a pilot in the Army Air Corps (GB)?

Any help much appreciated...the Army doesn't make it very clear on it's sites.

charliegolf
7th Sep 2008, 20:21
No.

But it used to be the case that you couldn't join the army directly as a non-comissioned officer pilot. You'd join as a soldier, then apply. Worth checking that bit out.

CG

andybangers
7th Sep 2008, 21:08
CG is bang on. I have been an NCO Pilot for the last few years now on the Apache and am having a ball. Here's how it works. Join the army as a soldier (doesn't have to be AAC) try an arm of the service that promotes quick like Reme Tech, Promote to LCPL and when recommended for CPL go for it. AGAI 43 I think, is the paper work for it but check that out to be sure. Effectively you can get acting CPL for the pilots course, promote to SGT on Wings Convert to Type and be shwacking bad guys by christmas!!

Good luck
:ok:

breakscrew
8th Sep 2008, 08:43
Adam,
If you joined as a soldier, you could join any Corps or Regiment, however, the AAC would be the logical one. You the need to be a Lance Corporal with a recommendation for promotion below the age of 29 to apply for pilot training. You would then be sent to Cranwell for the aptitude tests and then do 3 weeks of flying at Wallop to assess your suitability. Once you have passed these you the go to the Selection Board. They are very keen to attract young NCO pilots, so it is not a huge hurdle. Then it is onto the Army pilots course, where you get your wings in 14 months, and are streamed either Apache, Lynx or Islander.
Good luck with your future.
BS

diginagain
8th Sep 2008, 09:10