PDA

View Full Version : questions about jets

pplpeter
7th Sep 2008, 03:13
Hello, I'm studying towards my PPL with the view to become a jet airline pilot and I had a few questions that my instructor couldn't answer. Where does pressurised air come from when used in a jet aircraft cabin? And I'm being taught to use the ailerons and rudder pedals when turning, do you use the rudders in a jet, as I have read that you don't, if not then why not? And roughly how much does a 747 weigh? This is the aircraft type I'd look to fly. Thank you in advance, Peter

18-Wheeler
7th Sep 2008, 03:23
The air that pressurises the cabin comes from the compressor section of the jet engine. If you look below ->

http://www.tsb.gc.ca/en/reports/air/1994/a94c0034/a6.gif

... the pressurised air will either come from the front compressor section or the rear compressor section, depending on how many rpm's the engine is doing. (Airflow depends on revs, and so when the engine is going slowly it's not passing much air, so the pressurised air is bled off from the high-pressure compressor)

A jet airliner typically doesn't need the rudder in a turn. A 747 has a gadget called a turn co-ordinator, and it works with the flaps extended and what it does is put a little rudder in for you to make a clean turn. About the only time you use the rudder pedals is to keep the plane straight on the runway, or for landing for the same reason.

A 747 Classic weighs about 172 tonnes empty, and 379.2 tonnes full. A 747-400 will be a bit more than that, with the heaviest being something like 404 tonnes I think .... ?

Capt Claret
7th Sep 2008, 03:55
G'day pplpeter and welcome to the forums.