PDA

View Full Version : Job opportunities after CPL and 230 hrs?

ace boy
5th Sep 2008, 15:25
Im considering taking the plunge and studying for my ppl, cpl and multi engine IR in NZ for around £25'000 (based on minimum hours). This will give me around 230 hours. My question is what kind of employment opportunities can I expect after this? £25000 looks a lot more managable than £70000+ for ATPL. I realise this wouldn't qualify me to fly for the airlines but the jobs market is dead anyway right? My dream is to fly, i don't car what at the moment so would I have a good chance of at least securing a job where i can start paying back some of my debts and building up my hours, even if the pay isn't great? Hope that makes sense im new to this as you can probably tell

corsair
7th Sep 2008, 09:27
The answer of course is quite simple, add some money for a Flight Instructor rating and you will get a job at 230 hours. It will make a better pilot and as you say you just want to fly. You might be a good Instructor. Once you start that you can look around for other opportunist jobs.

Finals19
7th Sep 2008, 09:47
The answer of course is quite simple, add some money for a Flight Instructor rating and you will get a job at 230 hours. It will make a better pilot and as you say you just want to fly. You might be a good Instructor. Once you start that you can look around for other opportunist jobs.

Just as long as you aren't looking to work in any JAA countries. I note your location as Shropshire - and assume you are looking to work in NZ itself?

potkettleblack
7th Sep 2008, 19:25
If your going to NZ or Oz to get an ICAO set of licences and intend to come back to Europe to work then you need to research thoroughly the costs of conversions. Not to mention the cost of living downunder. Yes the currency works in your favour and on the face of it the flying seems cheaper but when you add in the conversions and being able to perhaps stay at home the waters get muddied.

GNR