PDA

View Full Version : Why the end of rear engine-mounted planes?

Sam Bee
22nd Aug 2008, 19:13
Obviously a question that has arisen out of the Spanair tragedy, but I was pondering the reason for the disappearance of tail / rear fuselage mounted engines, and the move towards an almost exclusively wing mounted engines on newer planes?

But what was the reason for this shift?

Was it safety? Or due to better fuel consumption? Or more simply the ending of McDonnell-Douglas designed planes by Boeing? I saw a (newspaper) comment that rear-mounted engines 'push' the plane when taking off, whilst wing mounted engines 'pull' them into the air so I presume there are big fundamental differences. Have their ever been differing and competing 'camps' of airplane design that fundamentally favoured one design over the other?

I'm presuming it's a simple answer, but i'm unsure! Ta for your time!

clifftop
22nd Aug 2008, 19:20
I'm no engineer mate, but, to me it is, as you suggest, a question of "Push-Vs-Pull"

Modern cars are mostly front wheel drive, the stabilty is far better.

I suspect that engines on the wing, mid-body, are far better balanced than rear end placed jobs, pushing the ar$e end around.

Might be wrong though!:\

CentreFix25
22nd Aug 2008, 20:24
I always thought it was for maintenance purposes - easier to get at under the wing.

Mad (Flt) Scientist
22nd Aug 2008, 20:37
There's still plenty of rear-engined planes around, and people building new ones - look at the business aircraft sector. The "push versus pull" thing is somewhat bogus. There are engineering reasons to prefer either design, and the specifics of a given aircraft design requirement will dictate - along with, to be frank, corporate history and accumulated knowledge - the specific configuration.

Blink182
22nd Aug 2008, 21:10
Put the engines on the wings and you get load bearing relief........so you don't have to make the wings as strong ( heavy ) as with tail mounted engines.

Just a spotter