PDA

View Full Version : Flying Hours

nott00shabby
6th Aug 2008, 15:07
Hi there, I plan on becoming a career instructor because i love teaching and flying. I know that you only get paid for the amount of actual flying time and i was just wondering how many hours does the average flying instructor fly a week. (depending on the weather of course)

Thanks

michael95u
6th Aug 2008, 17:26
I have been an instructor for more than a few years (now I own a flight school). At my busiest, I could average 6 hours of FLIGHT time per day with a student. 8 hours was possible every once in a while, but you burn out very fast when you do that. I always tried to take one day off a week when I was flying 6 hours/day. So you are looking at 36 hours/week at peak flying. Typically it is more like 3-4 hours per day.

A good living can be made when you are a good instructor. You need to do something that sets you apart from the rest (some sort of specialty).

Michael

RSFTO
6th Aug 2008, 18:28
best thing is to work on fixed salary for fto without no matter how much you flight, this gives you security and capability to plan your life. when I work as fi I only take these kind of jobs ( oxford, cabair, coventry, intercockpit.... ).

once again: fixed salary and fixed hours on the job (phisical presence at the fto , it does not matter if you fly or not , usually 35/40 hours per week)

kme
6th Aug 2008, 18:34
Can only agree with previous, try to avoid 8 blockhours per day.

You can get a lot of time but it screws you up completely. Try 2 or 3 days in a row and you will get the point....

happy landings

RodgerF
8th Aug 2008, 19:41
You can normally reckon 2 hours for each day worked over the year

Badgeman
10th Aug 2008, 05:51