PDA

View Full Version : Flying the North Atlantic - a beginners story

Sam Rutherford
5th Aug 2008, 22:14
I am now back in Europe, having flown my SEP over Canada-Greenland-Iceland-Norway.

There are aspects that were harder than expected, and others that were easier...

It merits caution, but is perfectly achievable.

I am more than happy to help anyone else thinking of doing the same - a truly wonderful experience...

Safe flights all, Sam.

bucket_and_spade
5th Aug 2008, 22:47
Good stuff, thanks for this. I'm a recently qualified airline pilot, currently ploughing the European skies in my first commercial job but have, for a while now, always fancied a grand adventure across the Atlantic in something a bit more agricultural than what they give me to do the day job! I read a detailed blog not long back by a guy who took a Trinidad across the pond - great read :ok:

Hopefully one day I'll have the time/finances to follow through with the plan...! I'll be going east - west, just to mix it up and be different.

B&S :)

Sam Rutherford
6th Aug 2008, 12:30
Apparently west-east gives you tailwinds all the way, but we had headwinds for 10 days! Just watch the weather (and get updates hourly on the actuals at your destination - either by radio or satphone).

Sam.

BRL
6th Aug 2008, 12:36
That is a fantastic read mate, thanks for sharing that. :)

Radar
6th Aug 2008, 18:48
Sam,

Welcome back mate. And well done !! I'm green with envy. Catch you for that beer later this month. I'll e-mail later. Is NSN still in Lille?

Damian

IO540
6th Aug 2008, 20:08
What an amazing adventure, especially doing it at such a low level and VFR!

tuscan
7th Aug 2008, 10:09
Truely an inspiration, thanks for sharing. What does one do after such a trip I wonder?

Mikehotel152
7th Aug 2008, 11:16
A great read, with excellent photos. Well done. :ok:

:ooh: I wonder if anyone's done it the other way round?

david viewing
7th Aug 2008, 12:23
Thanks for posting that weblog - a really enjoyable read!