PDA

View Full Version : Ear Discomfort and Pilots

TheCosmicFrog
29th Jul 2008, 18:35
I'm sure this has been asked multiple times, but I couldn't find a thread about it.

Since so many of us (including me) suffer from ear discomfort relating to air pressure on flights, surely many of the pilots on PPRuNE do too.

So how do you guys cope with these pains?
Do you notice it less while piloting?
Since it's always worse with illness, what happens when you are sick?
Are there any tricks of the trade?

I badly want to work as a pilot, but fear that ear popping and pressure pains will marr my career and cause me to dread each day.

Thanks for any help!

bucket_and_spade
29th Jul 2008, 18:50
I'm new to the job and have never really noticed a problem - you're right in that if you have, for example, a head cold, it can be difficult to relieve the pressure by the usual chewing or swallowing (works fine for me). That's why even a mild common cold can cause pilots to pull a sicky when, in another job, it wouldn't be an issue.

I suppose some people are more prone to discomfort than others - I never feel discomfort, just the sensation that the ears need to be cleared. Having said that, I hardly ever notice even that to be honest.

How bad is the discomfort? Your physiology might mean you find it that bit harder to equalise pressures...

B&S :)

TheCosmicFrog
29th Jul 2008, 19:22
To be fair, I don't really get it that often or too intensely, but according to mom and dad, neither of them get any pain or discomfort whatsoever, so it just worried me a bit.

I do, however, suffer from "ear crackling" all the time. Most people get this when they have a headcold, but for some reason every time I swallow my ears crackle. I've actually become accustomed to it at this stage. I still worry that this will somehow cause me to fail a medical examination. Do you think I should worry about this? does anybody else's ears crackle when they swallow?

Sole
29th Jul 2008, 19:58