PDA

View Full Version : Is age 33 too old to start?

kohtao
11th Jul 2008, 10:47
Hello,

Thinking of starting my path to fAPTL. Boyhood dream etc !!!

I am a Maths graduate and have worked in the "City" as well as being a SCUBA instructor (low pay and more competitive than pilots).

Do you think 33 is too old? hopefully will get fAPTL before I'm 35 which gives me 30 years flight (or 25 if ever lucky to get on BA books).

Would like to hear if anyone has started at or about this age and has found work.

Cheers

heli_port
11th Jul 2008, 10:51
http://www.pprune.org/forums/professional-pilot-training-includes-ground-studies/51690-perpetual-am-i-too-old-how-old-too-old-thread-merged-several-times.html

http://www.pprune.org/forums/professional-pilot-training-includes-ground-studies/4372-age-problem.html

JohnRayner
11th Jul 2008, 11:02
I hope not, as I'm 33 too!

The threads would indicate that within reason, age doesn't matter so long as you tick other boxes, alluded to throughout this website.

The Medic doing my Class 1 medical (also ATPL working for airlines) laughed when I put it to him I was getting on a bit to be considering a huge career shift. His basic response was that wasn't an issue so long as I thought everything through, got some good training, understood the likely limitations and stumbling blocks along the way and sold myself well.

Which was nice to hear considering all my non-aviation friends did basically conclude I should just stick to the day job as I had a couple of grey hairs!

JR:ok:

spinnaker
11th Jul 2008, 11:56
Your age is no problem, its more a question of what your comfortable with and what your aspirations are.