PDA

View Full Version : 18 Years Reserve Service?

mixu83
3rd Jul 2008, 10:29
Here is a tough one for an experienced admin expert.

My wife left the RAF in April as a Cpl after 8 years service (gave 18 months notice on a 22 yr engagement).
She got sent her leavers pack from JPA which states under normal circumstances in her situation she would have a reserve commitment of 6 years. Trouble is her reserve service is 18 years as stated on her discharge paperwork. This is where it gets interesting. She joined in 2000 when most engagements were 9+6 yrs reserve service. On further enquiries it turns out when she enlisted the 6 yr reserve commitment on her attestation paperwork was scored out and written over in pen. It was changed to 18 years. A decent solicitor would probably shoot this to pieces in about 5 mins. However my question is does anyone know why this may have been changed? Is it possible it was trade related. She was a linguist by trade. Her last unit don't want to know as she is now discharged. JPA are as helpful as ever :ugh:. My Chief Clerk reckons nobody can be held to a reserve commitment for more than 6 years.

I would appreciate the pprune experts thoughts. We know the chances of being called up are minimal but even so an 18yr reserve liability seems excessive to us!

airborne_artist
3rd Jul 2008, 10:52
Has anyone from her trade been re-called/mobilised from the Reserves recently?

mixu83
3rd Jul 2008, 10:57
No, not that we know of airborne_artist.
However, with her being a linguist of middle eastern languages it could be a possibility in the future which is why she does not want to be held to an 18 year reserve liability.

Satellite_Driver
3rd Jul 2008, 11:20