PDA

View Full Version : Council Tax-25% discount

Nearly There
16th Jun 2008, 09:44
Morning all,

I had applied to the local council for a 25% discount on council tax as I am a student, I have completed the fATPL and am currently on a FIC course, all courses one after the other full time modular so effectively a student for around 18 months.

The council have said I dont qualify as its not through a university,college or polytechnic!

Any one else applied succesfully and if so did it go to appeal?

Thanks NT :ok:

Whirlygig
16th Jun 2008, 09:49
Your Local Authority is correct; the discounts are quite clearly laid down in legislation and modular flight training does not count for the reason stated. Actually, integrated flight training wouldn't count either!! Unlikely to get anywhere on appeal.

The only one that would qualify for a discount would be an aviation degree where you also study for the ATPL ground exams.

If you live on your own, you can get 25% single person discount.

Cheers

Whirls

Nearly There
16th Jun 2008, 10:12
Cheers Whirls, tax tax and more bl00dy tax for flight training students!!

Was worth a try at least.

NT:ok:

Hansard
16th Jun 2008, 10:25
I don't think this helps you but when I did the residential ATPL groundschool several years ago, I managed to persuade my local council that I was a full-time student. I didn't pay any Council Tax whatsoever for 6 months. I had to prove that I'd enrolled on a course of full-time study which lasted at least 6 months. I only just met the 6 month criterion by using the groundschool start date and the date of the last exam to calculate the overall duration.

Whirlygig
16th Jun 2008, 11:13
Hansard, you were lucky - they shouldn't have granted it!!

Cheers

Whirls

PS - Up until last week, I worked in the Revenue and Benefits Dept of a Local Authority!!!

SlingsbyT67M
16th Jun 2008, 17:11