PDA

View Full Version : Glider Tugging

squirrelysquirrel
4th May 2008, 21:02
Hi,

Currently I am a season tug pilot for a large gliding club in the South of England. I am also studying for my ATPL theory examinations, and am due to sit my final exams at the start of June. Although the flying is good, it is very infrequent at the moment, and I am getting less than ten hours per week. As I already have the funds in place to carry out my CPL ME/IR, I am in two minds whether to carry on with this all summer with the chance of getting some free SEP time, or to start my CPL asap and stake my claim on the job market. Im just not sure if the SEP hours from here will really be that valuable, or should I just get the higher licence and focus on paid employment ??

Mercenary Pilot
4th May 2008, 22:01
If you decide to get your CPL/IR soon, make sure you leave the gliding club on good terms and "keep the door open". It's certainly not easy to find that first job (especially at the moment) so you need to keep flying and racking up the logbook hours, it's really important even if it is SEP.

:ok:

jayteeto
4th May 2008, 22:08
Agreed, any free hours are gold dust. Try to do both if you can......

cats_five
5th May 2008, 09:06
It's early May and the weather hasn't been very good so far. Hopefully it will pick up by the time you've done your exams - until then I would have thought not too much flying is good as it makes room for studying.

tom_ace
5th May 2008, 18:39
any flying is good experience as long as you keep your standards up

Yarpy
5th May 2008, 19:38
Aaaahhhhh . . . Tugging !

Probably the best actual flying you will ever experience and it will stand you in surprisingly goos stead. Mark my words. I never enjoyed anything so much as mucking around in an old Rollason Condor. It's certainly more fun than five hours through a sunday night to Tenerife.

Enjoy it whilst is lasts laddie. The commercial world is not all it's cracked up to be.

pheeel
5th May 2008, 19:46