PDA

View Full Version : Oxford or Flight Training Europe?

time4parties
28th Apr 2008, 07:34
I am currently in the final process of choosing which college I will go to. Anyone have any input into which the airlines prefer, and which provides a better training base?
Cheers:O

nick14
28th Apr 2008, 18:16
no idea as to who the airlines prefer. As far as i am aware there is none, although FTE is now more expensive with the exchange rate being so poor for them.

btw im an OAA student, any q's pm me.

Both good schools, both with problems as with everything in aviation.

Nick

bajadj
28th Apr 2008, 18:21
I agree with Nick. I'm also at oaa and it's ok. Things seem to work pretty well although i do think there's now far too many students for the resources they have. One groundschool instructor goes sick and the entire timetable collapses on an almost daily basis. The full motion sims are look very impressive, the clapped out senecas don't.

mini-jumbo
28th Apr 2008, 18:27
the clapped out senecas don't.

They might not look all that good, but they work a lot better than the ones in Arizona.

There are pros and cons to all FTO's, if you haven't already done so, go and visit them and talk to current students and instructors.

Adios
28th Apr 2008, 21:06
Seneca engines work better than the Diesels in the Twinstars and now that Thielert's gone to the wall, who knows what will happen to them.

Once you start at either, time 4 parties will be over for a while though!

Jump-Seat64
28th Apr 2008, 21:06
The oxford fleet of Seneca's is indeed old but are very well maintained and from my experience rarely encounted problems.

I can't offer much help with FTE but know that sucessful students have the same prospects as those from Oxford. Again I don't know what FTE use for MCC/JOC but the 737-400's at Oxford are only FNPT 2's and not full 737 flight simulators, its makes no real difference as the course is only intended to teach CRM.