PDA

View Full Version : ATPL Exams; Glasgow or Shuttleworth?

dsandson
21st Apr 2008, 16:20
Hi folks!

I wonder if anybody could help me out. I'm Currently studying MOD 1 ATPL with Bristol, and I'm looking to organise for the refresher and exams.

I can find plenty of info on B&Bs around bristol. No issue there. Exam sites are a little more of a problem.

I'm considering Glasgow... are the exams at the Glasgow College of Nautical Studies? If so has anyone sat the exams there recently who can recomend accomodation nearby?

Now I'm also keeping my options open and considering Suttleworth. Any comments about that, or recomended B&Bs?

The reason I'm asking is that I have to plan to bring my car over from NI... and more importantly get back after the exams so I can go to work the next day! (woohoo :{)

On the flip side anybody recently traveled to cheddar without a car? was it still practical to get back and forth?

Any answers will be much appreciated!!

Dave

jono1978
21st Apr 2008, 17:09
Hi,

I am with Bristol too. I took my Mod 1 exams 2 weeks ago in Glasgow.
I stayed at the Premier in, directly opposite. It was Ģ60 per night but was a great location, you could leave your room 15 mins before the exam was due to start!

Was nice and quiet for revision. The only down side was the Internet was expensive, Ģ24 for 1 week! But looking back I didn't really need it that much for the QB as you get so much feedback on the brush up course, you won't have time to go on the QB.

I did notice the Holiday inn wasn't far from the college, about 3 mins walk so that might be an option, I didn't look at prices for that one, wasn't sure where it was in relation to the college but I may consider it for Mod 2

If you need any more info PM me if you want

John

wilky
21st Apr 2008, 20:02
I'm afraid Glasgow have pulled theirATPL exams..it is no more!!!!:ugh:

wilky
21st Apr 2008, 20:04
apologies they may still do exams, but ground school has stopped.

chrisbl
21st Apr 2008, 20:51