PDA

View Full Version : NPPL to JAR-FCL PPL

BFMD
15th Apr 2008, 13:02
I am hoping someone may be able to give me some advice on the requirements for me to convert my NPPL SSEA into a JAR -FCL PPL. My case is a little unusual I would imagine as I am an instructor in the Air Cadets on the Vigilant TMG. I used the hours on that (500+ hours) to gain my NNPL using the regulations below:

http://www.nppl.uk.com/documents/NPPLXCREV07_000.pdf

Page 5

The holder of the ATC Instructor's Qualification valid for the Vigilant Motor Glider who wishes to obtain
a NPPL with SSEA Class Rating shall:
a. Produce log book evidence of having satisfactorily completed flying training on single-engine
piston aeroplanes under the supervision of a FI(A), which must include
(1) Not less than 1 hour dual instruction in stall/spin awareness and avoidance;
(2) Not less than 1 hour dual instrument appreciation;
(3) Not less than 1 hour supervised solo flight;
(4) Not less than 4 hours navigation training or successful completion of the ‘Air Cadet
Vigilant Transit Qualification' training syllabus, including at least one solo cross-country
navigation exercise;
b. Pass the JAR-FCL PPL (A) theoretical examinations;
c. Hold a valid NPPL Medical Declaration or JAR-FCL Class 1 or 2 medical certificate;
d. Pass the NPPL NST and GST in a SSEA.

Since completing my NPPL I've flown about 40 hours P1 in single engine piston aircraft (PA28's and C150's). I've read LASORS thoroughly and there is a mention of Vigilant hours in Section C page 3 but it doesn't answer my question. I've emailed the CAA, but they have just referred me back to LASORS. I've spoken to an instructor at my flying club and he thinks I "might" only required to do discretional training, the 150 nm cross country and the skills test.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Lister Noble
15th Apr 2008, 17:26
It might be an idea to post this in the instructor section as well.
Good luck
Lister

BEagle
16th Apr 2008, 06:34