PDA

View Full Version : Grob Tutor question

Riskman
22nd Mar 2008, 00:58
I've mentioned elsewhere that I'm an instructor with the Air Cadets hence the question.

Part of the syllabus covers the Grob Tutor and the engine controls are described as Throttle, Mixture and RPM.

Throttle and mixture I'm happy with but the book doesn't describe what exactly the RPM control does. I thought the throttles did that ie push forward = increased rpm so I assume it's something to do with the prop.

Does the RPM control enable the pilot to adjust the prop rpm through a gearing mechanism? Is this the modern equivalent to coarse/fine pitch?

Thanks in advance

Fg Off Max Stout
22nd Mar 2008, 02:04
You are thinking of traditional fixed pitch props. The Grob has a constant speed / variable pitch prop. Basically...

The RPM control sets the desired rotational speed of the engine and propellor. The prop is in most cases bolted directly to the engine and hence they turn at the same speed. A constant speed unit (CSU) adjusts the pitch of the propellor blades, changing the thrust produced and torque required, to maintain a constant RPM.

The throttle simply controls the power output of the engine.

So, open the throttle, more power is developed by the engine, the prop RPM will try to increase, but the CSU will coarsen the pitch of the blades, producing more thrust and requiring greater torque absorbing the increased engine power, thus maintaining RPM at the selected value. Consequently in simple terms throttle controls thrust, RPM controls well, er, RPM.