PDA

View Full Version : Absolute beginner to do ppl?

Leeds1972
11th Mar 2008, 08:10
I'm 30 yrs old and not done any study for over 13yrs, three weeks ago I went on a trial lesson and got the bug BIG time...Since then I've been studying for about 15hrs a week but although I know a lot more than I did before (practically nothing) I'm still going through my first section, general aircraft and flight principles and performance. I don't want to use the confuser as plan to go onto my ATPL and just consider it cheating myself..
I tell myself every day that I know a little more than yesterday but don't know if I'm impatient or just dumb!!

Anyone know what the average time for self study is from absolute beginner to ppl standard?
Any tips revision?
Do most people just learn the confuser?:ugh:

Cheers to everyone that takes time out to reply its greatly appreciated

from a very frustrated wannabe

ampan
11th Mar 2008, 08:50
Have you put an application into the RAF?

You might think that you haven't got a dog's show, but they have ways of objectively testing applicants. They only want the best, but there are numerous examples of them finding the best in unlikely locations. You might think that 30 is too old, but it really depends on your level of fitness.

It goes without saying that 4-7 years in the RAF will almost guarantee a good career in commercial aviation, should you want to pursue that path.

shaun ryder
11th Mar 2008, 08:51
You could study and complete the PPL syllabus very quickly, it all depends on your circumstances. I suspect that you work full time, so will have to study in your free time. Obviously this will extend the amount of time taken to understand and complete the course material. You can use the confuser but I would only use it as an aid to study, rather than a cheat! You are at the start of a very long tunnel. Flight training is usually a long and drawn out process, so try not to get too frustrated.

CAT3C AUTOLAND
11th Mar 2008, 09:44