PDA

View Full Version : IR Renewal Questions

jayteeto
8th Mar 2008, 06:36
I have asked a number of schools the same questions and got many different answers, Lasors seems to be interperated many ways, so here goes:

I last renewed my MEP IR in Nov 03 using a PA44 aircraft. I would like to renew it before the 5 year deadline. Some schools say an aircraft must be used, others say a suitable Sim will suffice. I do know that to use a sim, the basic MEP rating must be valid. Fair enough, but using a sim for the IR would save me in the region of £1000. Which is it to be oh clever Pruners?

paco
8th Mar 2008, 06:40
I used a sim a couple of years ago at Bristol, and it was valid despite the fact that my MEP validation had run out. I found that the money saved was offset by the the time spent getting used to the sim. I should have used the aircraft in the first place and the validation would have been included.

Phil

jayteeto
8th Mar 2008, 07:25
I am a helicopter man by trade and haven't been near an aeroplane for 2 years, so I will be refreshing on either!!

GARDENER
8th Mar 2008, 08:26
I was in a similar position (4 years 8 months from initial) and was informed that in order to revalidate your IR in the sim you need to do it within the 12 months from initial to reval or reval to reval. If you go over the 12 months then you must do it in the aircraft. Additionally if you do it in the sim one year then next time must be AC.
Also had to renew my MEP as it was out by 6 years so had to do exam, sufficient retraining and flight test which was done in the same flight as IR.
I stand to be corrected but based on my experience that it how it went!

http://www.caa.co.uk/docs/175/Notex%205-2007.pdf

jayteeto
8th Mar 2008, 09:21
Thank you, the renewal/revalidation seems to be the confusing bit, so aeroplane it is.