PDA

View Full Version : Pearls of wisdom

daver_777
13th Feb 2008, 01:11
Hi all

Im a low time huey driver, and was wondering if all you guys (and girls) out there have once piece of advice/wisdom given to you by a instructor/captain/checking officer that has stuck with you through all of your flying carreer?

I remember back when i was a lowly student on wings course (which was not too long ago), and found myself strugling to make the grade and on a chop ride, my primary instructor at the time came up with this gem after i told him i was having problems..."you know how to fix that dont you?, just dont do it again":ooh: Riiiiight?!?? worked though.

hey i didnt say it had to be serious:}

John Eacott
13th Feb 2008, 02:53
What Straight and Level in Flight magazine used to call 'ARIA's'?

Always Remembered Instructor's Advice :cool:

Malarky Jim once suggested:

"Point the way you're going, and go the way you're pointing" :p

He actually suggested it more than once, ISTR....... ;)

TwinHueyMan
13th Feb 2008, 04:28
My favorite: "A preflight consists of searching for reasons not to fly"

Others: "The low fuel flasher means you've got time to make up for being an idiot and land, not continue being an idiot" and "tracer fire is a kind reminder that you've missed a turn and should make expedient efforts to get back on the right course" -- though if you're smart, you'll never run into either of these situations.

Mike

RVDT
13th Feb 2008, 07:06
"Don't fly anything that is in the "restricted" category."

It means what it says on the tin.

Be very wary of flying anything older than you are!

A.Agincourt
13th Feb 2008, 08:11
"Never underestimate the stupidity of others".

Best Wishes

OverTq
13th Feb 2008, 08:48
1. Don't assume - check!

2. Don't press-on, land-on!

moosp
13th Feb 2008, 13:26
Don't assume, check.