PDA

View Full Version : noob request on ME add-on in india & bush/ramp/dock anywhere

mata7
26th Jan 2008, 23:33
hi folks,

call for help!

im a lil stressed as my time in the US is ending soon and im at my wit's end. i have 2 questions. 1st for those in the know about the scene in india. and 2nd for pretty much everyone.

1:
im a noob soon-to-be (end jan.) faa asel cpl in texas with about 265 hrs on 152/172/172rg. i was wondering how important a ME add-on really is in order to be accepted to the airlines as a cadet in india and other parts too.

2:
im an india national. ive also been sending out cvs for 2 months now for bush/ramp/dock-hand jobs all over the US, canada, carib, africa, etc. and i seem to be getting nowhere. considering my nationality is it even worth it to try these places at this stage? i want to end up in bush flying (eventually the antarctic to be precise) but it just seems the only option right now as an indian student is to take an airline job in india. and thats something im really not too interested in.

advice anyone? any help would be greatly appreciated!

-roh

puliszaido
28th Jan 2008, 23:38
If you want to be a bush pilot try applying in Alaska or somewhere in Canada. Wide open spaces. Also try to get a Sea/Water rating on a Single. This would help in the long run.

About the multi rating, AFAIK it won't really help in bush flying but it is always something handy and it add a feather in your cap.

Find a school that will give you a Sea/Water rating.

Good luck.

mata7
29th Jan 2008, 01:33
thanks for that. ive actually already flown in alaska. got my ppl there and most of my north america apps are for operators in alaska and canada. as for the float rating, im trying to get a ramp/dock job so that i can earn enough to gradually put myself through that very rating. so a bit of a catch-22 there.

thanks anyway.

-roh

kk pilot
29th Jan 2008, 03:15