PDA

View Full Version : Please advise, help even pay for my training if you want! ;)

W4LLACE
24th Jan 2008, 19:09
This is my first post folks so be easy on me, PLEASE.

I am 25 - 26 in July, never too late! I have always wanted to fly commercially but always ran away because of the financial side of things.

Now: I am in a position where i own my house, in a relationship of 7 years and have a stable job where I also have the opportunity to study during my shift.

The ambition for me to be a commercial pilot is bursting and am now in a confident position that I can see the tunnel so to speak! Now i need to get in that tunnel - this is where you guys come in!!!

I have no flight experience other than long haul holidays every year and city jumping flights - a passenger basically. I have just spent a few ££ on books based on PPL ( im studying them - so much the mrs aint happy) to try and get as much knowledge as possable before commiting myself financially in a big way.

Ok skip to the questions I hope you guys can answer:

1: will my reading up etc of these books substitute for my lack of maths and physics - All my grades are Scottish standard grade level 3!!!

2: What route is recommended? Modular etc?

3: Do you reccommend any other courses I may take at a local college etc to improve any chance (currently checking out a NQ in Aeronautical Engineering)

4: Is there any sponsorships these days?? Very few and far between I understand?

5: What banks deal with these sort of loans??

There will be loads more questions - mind gone blank, but be assured everyones replies will bring further questions.

Any Thanks in advance and from reading other posts and threads etc etc this is a fantastic forum with fantastic folk contributing to it - no I dont want a straw!

Cheers folks!!

wbryce
24th Jan 2008, 19:31
Welcome to the forums.