PDA

View Full Version : Use of HF.

CEJM
22nd Jan 2008, 16:41
During my last couple of flights i cam across two different views on how to use the HF. I would like to post this over here to get some other opinions.

Flying across the Arabian Sea we are normally in contact with Mumbai on HF. (No CPLDC :{) Often when asking for the SelCal check we don't get the buzzer in the flightdeck. When this happens several of our pilots tune the second box to the same frequency as box number one and ask again for a SelCal check. In 99% the SelCal check is positive and we resume normal ops with both HF boxes tuned to the same frequency.

However, in during my time as an engineer i have been told several times (by avionics engineers) that you never tune both HF sets to the same frequency and than transmit. As this might blow up the other HF receiver.

During a recent discussion about this subject one of the other pilots asked me if i could show him where this was written in the Airbus FCOM. Which ofcourse i could not find.

What are your ideas about tuning both HF boxes to the same frequency?

And does anybody have a reference to where this might be in the books?

Thanks for your input. CEJM

Junkflyer
22nd Jan 2008, 17:36
Can't speak for the Airbus, but the classic 74 has two HF's that share the same coupler controller which can lock up if both are set to the same frequency. It is stated in the systems section of the AOM. We always tune the first radio away from the freq before trying the second.

Wodrick
22nd Jan 2008, 20:42
For an Airbus (any) with a dual installation, then it's fairly easy.