PDA

View Full Version : Question to BA 777 pilots or engine maintenance engineers

BelArgUSA
18th Jan 2008, 16:10
I am a 747-200 pilot.
We have a "ground or flight idle" on our JT9D engines.
Solenoid control...
xxx
Do you have the same feature on your engines...?
Is there a stupid $2.50 solenoid for the idle selector...?
Do you have a "GND IDLE" warning light...?
Are these solenoids prone to failures...?
xxx
Thanks for the info.
:)
Happy contrails

Squealing Pig
18th Jan 2008, 17:37
A further question now the AAIB have stated the Trents failed to respond. Are the power levers PHYSICLY connected to the engines as in a conventional non fly-by-wire aircraft or is it inline with Airbus and just sends a signal to computer that then decides if you really did want a power change or not ?

Check Airman
18th Jan 2008, 18:34
The power levers are not physically connected to the engines, it's electronic. However, the computer does not limit the thrust as you're thinking. If you want full power, slam them all the way forward, and the computer keeps adding fuel until a limit (N1, EGT etc.) is reached.

MaximumPete
18th Jan 2008, 19:25
Could be that alpha floor protection kicked in during gusty conditions.

VERY difficult to spot in the time scan available.

Automation HIDES things!!

MP;)

Clandestino
18th Jan 2008, 20:41
is it inline with Airbus and just sends a signal to computer that then decides if you really did want a power change or not ?