PDA

View Full Version : A320 emergency descent

captain87
29th Dec 2007, 08:09
I'm an Airline Pilot Student who is studying for A320 TR before performing it ...

I'd like to clear up a doubt about a specific procedure to be adupted when a cabin depressurization occurs with an A320 in cruise over the mountains (30.000 ft high) ... provided the CFIT procedures and GPWS operating normally. We suppose that SYS 1 + SYS 2 are INOP and the MAN control of the outflow control valve is fault due to the respective failure of the manual elect motor. So the Oxygen Masks now deployes automatically and ... (since) an emergency descent to 10.000 ft should be started immediately, is it possible to maneuvre the aircraft so close to terrain ? ... if affermative: Should the maximum 750 ft/m rate of descent (for pressurization) be matched anyway ? ...

That's just a doubt that I'm not sure could really happen ...

Thank you and Best Regards

by captain 87

Empty Cruise
29th Dec 2007, 12:40
You don your masks & establish communication - and then try your best to re-establish pressurisation.

If that fails - you communicte the loss of pressure the the cabin crew and make sure the rubber jungle has deployed.

From there on - it's no longer an emergency, but a time-limited scenario. However, the important actors in this stage of the drama - the flightdeck - have a looooooooooong time available before they run out of oxygen. Therefore - chill! Think & then act! Your CC and pax are not going to die on you for the first 10-15 min., so spend 30 seconds calming yourself down.

If you're overflying terrain that high :8 - you have a decompression escape route designed by your company & their performance engineers. So turn onto your escape route and follow the descent restrictions specified therein (it's 10.000 ft or MOCA, btw) while carrying out your "emergency" descent drill, bearing in mind that the real emergency is over and no-one is gonna die, just as long as you don't panic.

Enjoy! ;)