PDA

View Full Version : turbulence

creamegg
23rd Dec 2007, 22:38
Ok I survived my flight to and frm Copenhagen but coming back we suffered bloomin' awful turbulence!!!!

It was as if we were a giant rattle and we were getting shaken frantically, it was so scary. The pilot came on and said we were going through rough turbulence and high wind and seatbelt signs came on...but omg I thought the end had come!

Can turbulence damage the plane? :ooh:

Paracab
24th Dec 2007, 00:53
Can turbulence damage the plane?
In extreme circumstances, yes. You are extremely unlikely to encounter such circumstances though.
Try a little search, I'm quietly confident that this question has been posed before.

MrSoft
24th Dec 2007, 08:48
Hi creamegg, where were you sitting? It can get a bit bouncy down the back of a 757 in weather.

As a bona fide amateur, I would cautiously suggest that the airframe has a tolerance for turbulence way beyond what you probably encountered.

Only once did I sit through turbulence bad enough to register (in my mind) as abnormal. They stopped the meal service but had already stuck my tray down. Incredibly bouncy climbout all the way up to our cruising level. In the meantime I was faced with BA afternoon tea, scones, jam and clotted cream :\ I couldn't even look at it.

Rodda's clotted cream as well - very sad.

I couldn't even hold my glass still and my arm was bouncing up and down like a cheerleader, totally out of control; champers in mid-air; never saw anything like it before or since.

My point is, even in this extremity, the crew were utterly, totally, 100% unperturbed.

Ever since that day, I have a new yardstick, and the whole thing doesn't even bother me.

Avman
24th Dec 2007, 11:26