PDA

View Full Version : Lesson #1 recommendation around Sheffield

eltonioni
12th Dec 2007, 15:47
Be nice, I'm new to this whirly lark... Christmas time and SWMBO has decided that she likes helicopters and my PPL(A) isn't enough, so I'm not objecting to her plan for me to learn with her paying for lesson #1.

I'm in Sheffield and obviously there are a few schools at EGSY but I don't mind looking further afield as it will give me an excuse to fly to another airfield.

I don't really want to spend an hour 'mastering the art of hovering' and a friendly instructor who doesn't mind flying somewhere interesting, and a quick cup of coffee in the middle would be nice.

So, I'm happy to go a reasonable distance of Sheffield in case the Wx goes crap? Sherburn? Nottingham? Barton? Derby? Humberside? Anywhere else worthy of a recommendation?

Cheers :)

helimutt
12th Dec 2007, 20:56
Whirlybird works out of Tatenhill I think, and i'm sure she would be happy to take you somewhere other than Sheffield. You could go to Sandtoft (sandtoft helis) or Humberside (York helis I think). Lots of scope really.

Up & Away
12th Dec 2007, 21:01
Should you not start and try to support your local schools?
I personally would recommend a Hu269 rather than a R22.
Go up and ask to talk to 'Instructor' not just the person at the desk.
Maybe you could fly around to all airfields you fancy before choosing.
good luck :)

Martin Barclay
13th Dec 2007, 06:52
Couldn't recommend this school highly enough. Did some commercial training there with Geoff Day and the school is professional and really friendly with that bit of flexibility that you were after. Got a 22 and a 44 and if you can afford it I would suggest going down the 44 route.
Hope you have fun.
P.S. My wife made a similar suggestion and has been regretting it ever since, obsession, bankruptcy etc!!

Whirlybird
13th Dec 2007, 07:16
Whirlybird works out of Sheffield