PDA

View Full Version : Royal Navy Rank Strucutre.

tyne
30th Nov 2007, 14:54
Hi, hope someone can help me with this..

You may remember me, I am a journalist who hates it when journos get it wrong.

As part of this mission I am compling info on the UK armed forces for our reporters across the group.

I am at the Rank structure stage and have found exactly what I want on the army and RAF websites. But I can't find anything for the RN.

I'm putting together a crib sheet for my hacks to refer to. So for example they know a Corporal has some resobsibility that some people are called gunners or sappers or whatever.

I'm hoping this will stop a lot of misunderstandings....

So can anyone please point me to a web based resrouce.

It's Friday afternoon so all my RN contacts have gone home!

I'd really appreciate a bit of help

Cheers

Dan

doubledolphins
30th Nov 2007, 15:06
Its all on the website dear boy. Under Training and People, then RN life.

PS. a Leading Hand is the same as a Corporal, then there are equivalent rates and ranks all the way to Admiral.

Sentry Agitator
30th Nov 2007, 15:10
http://homepages.shu.ac.uk/~acsdry/ranks.htm

SA

doubledolphins
30th Nov 2007, 15:15
My dear chap, that chart is complete :mad: Besides "Fleet Chiefs" have been WOs for years now. Very recently they became WO1s, with the introduction of WO2s. Funny thing that.

Toxteth O'Grady
30th Nov 2007, 15:15
Link at post #3 above is out of date. RN no longer has Fleet Chief Petty Officers and has Warrant Officer 2 and 1 now.

:cool:

TOG

6Z3
30th Nov 2007, 15:16
I am a journalist who hates it when journos get it wrong.

Royal Navy Rank Strucutre
Corporal has some resobsibility
please point me to a web based resrouce
Don't you just hate it when journos get it wrong?
Here's (http://www.royal-navy.mod.uk/server/show/nav.3773) a link to the RN website tri-service rank structure page. Good luck with your venture.

airborne_artist
30th Nov 2007, 15:38