PDA

View Full Version : ATPL at OAT while at Oxford University?

Contacttower
22nd Nov 2007, 16:47
Has anyone done this?

I was just wondering because I've been invited for interview at Oxford and while I'm not seriously considering a career in commercial aviation if I ever wanted to do the a modular ATPL course and if I get in to the university OAT would be an ideal place to do it.

Does anyone have any comments about doing flying training while also studying for a non-aviation related degree?

julesweso
22nd Nov 2007, 19:10
Hi,
Sorry I can't be of too much help, but as a current oxbridge student I'd strongly advise against adding more studies out of your subject while at uni. Though time can be found to get some flying training done, it would probably be extremely hard to fit in time for any ground studies, certainly not during term time. The best time to do some training is during the summer holidays, which you get a nice long 3months of, but I'm assuming you'd be gone home in that time anyway.
Good luck with your interview!
Julian:}

Contacttower
22nd Nov 2007, 20:09
Thanks, do you know whether the Oxford UAS is any good?

GJB
23rd Nov 2007, 08:13
quote: [I'm not seriously considering a career in commercial aviation]

but nearly 400 posts on PPRUNE. :hmm:

Gary Lager
23rd Nov 2007, 08:23
The ATPL course is not something to be attempted on a whim; I suggest that if you try to complete a course of flying training (modular or otherwise) whilst doing a degree then you will either f**k up your degree, the ATPL course, or both. Or at the very least fail to acheive your potential. Which is the same thing.

All UASs are equally as good (except Southampton, which is only for the elite), and equally as hard to get in - more than a little commitment to a flying/RAF career are necessary if you want to stay in longer than 5 minutes.

There is plenty of time for everything in a sensible sequence - don't rush things!

Bandit650
23rd Nov 2007, 09:28