PDA

View Full Version : High Altitude Wind Speed

chrisnel
10th Nov 2007, 17:34
Hi all, I'm new on here and not a flying professional - just an interested spectator - so treat me gentle!
Flew from Manchester to Southampton yesterday morning and we got there a lot quicker than normal. In fact we took off 45 mins late but arrived only 15 mins late!
In welcoming us to the flight the captain announced that we would catch up time as there was a strong tail wind. Am sure he said of 200mph - maybe I misheard. Could that have been correct? Perhaps he actually said 100mph - even so that seems quite a breeze! Is it normal to get much faster winds at higher levels than down on the ground. I said I was a novice at this!
Look forward to comments.
Chris

BOAC
10th Nov 2007, 17:46
Yes - I have seen well over 200 KNOTS (around 230mph) in my time.

Cloud Bunny
10th Nov 2007, 17:58
Yeah the winds down at ground level rarely reflect what is going on 'upstairs'. There has been a couple of jetstreams (high velocity winds) passing over/close to the UK over the last few days and they can get upto quite some speeds. 200mph sounds plausible. Had similar coming back from Southern Spain recently, only it was a headwind! :ugh:

eastern wiseguy
10th Nov 2007, 18:34
http://www.wunderground.com/global/Region/EU/pxJetStream.html
Have a look here. The jetstream can be likened to a fast flowing "river" of air. You can see from the example that the speeds do increase quite significantly as altitude increases. This also explains why flights to Europe from the US are generally quicker than flights to the US from Europe.:)

K.Whyjelly
10th Nov 2007, 19:21
http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/bb219/A330Skygod/DSC01847.jpg
First off, apologies for the quality of the snap but it was a bit dark and a lot bumpy:bored: At the time of the morning I took this picture I was just wishing I was in a warm comfy bed not just starting my Atlantic crossing!!