PDA

View Full Version : Sea Knight on fire, video

airborne_artist
19th Sep 2007, 20:54
http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=a26_1190194748

Lucky they had only just left the deck.

glad rag
19th Sep 2007, 21:09
Holy s#1t, that was a close call!, did you see the way the flames propagated forwards??????

Fg Off Max Stout
19th Sep 2007, 21:11
F-----g hell! :eek: That could easily have had a less happy ending!

kiwi chick
20th Sep 2007, 05:28
Whoah! Bloody Hell! :eek: and everything else you've already said!! :eek:

:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: **** how scary would that be?!!!

MostlyHarmless
20th Sep 2007, 07:24
My worst nightmare, that's probably one of the scariest aviation vids I've ever seen. :uhoh:

JOE-FBS
20th Sep 2007, 08:13
Airborne Artist,

Thanks for posting this. I work in the civilian cabin safety business (and fly a lot as SLF) so have circulated the link to lots of people in and around the business to help them realise why we do what we do.

Thanks again

Joe

Navy_Adversary
20th Sep 2007, 08:16
What would have started that so quickly, a fuel leak?

airborne_artist
20th Sep 2007, 08:32
JoeFBS - I saw it on Rotorheads here on Pprune, and thought it deserved a wider audience. Glad it's of use.

cornish-stormrider
20th Sep 2007, 08:32
What hyd fluid do it use??

I once had the pleasure of an F3 APU and ruptured hyd pipe from the right hand side sps pack. That burnt well.

TheSmiter
20th Sep 2007, 08:47
If you take the time to wade through the moronic and abusive comments attached to this vid, you'll find:

This happened in Sept of 1998 aboard the
"Bonhomer Richard", pronounced with a
french dialect. My squadron was HMM-164 and I was
a CH-46 Helo Mech. We were supporting Operation
Urban Warrior off the Monterey coast in
California. This bird was taking media crews back
and forth from land to the carrier all day and at
this moment they were leaving to go back to shore.
I was in the chow hall aboard the Bonhomer
"Dick" when this happened. CH-46