PDA

View Full Version : Headset for airliner

visualappr
14th Sep 2007, 08:52
Hello guys,
I've been flying the 737-300/400 for the past nine years. The noise level on the flightdeck is very high and therefore I want to invest in getting a good headset.
I'm looking to get some feedback from people who have done the same.
I've heard there are some lightweight models consisting of earplugs and a light boom with ANR. Can anybody confirm this ? Or do I have to wear the heavier models like the Bose or Telex headsets for general aviation ?

Dreamshiner
14th Sep 2007, 09:16
In a similar tact as the post starter I have a bose headset, I was wondering if its possible to remove one of the earcups and replace it with something to enable me to keep my left ear free to speak to the captain.

I'm unsure if its all wired up and can be removed. Ideally it would be fitted with a piece of plastic contoured to fit above the ear and hold the set against my head.

Kiltie
14th Sep 2007, 10:10
I found the Sennheiser HMC ANR had quite a clamping effect around the head after a couple of hours. Bose-X and DC are a little large for the jet environment and don't allow one-ear-off use.

Many of my colleagues use the Plantronics MS30-2 StarSet; I've just ordered one from the States. Google and you will find. Be sure to order the one with the two jack-plugs as they come with a single plug as standard.

Dani
14th Sep 2007, 10:15
just a hint: 737 cockpit is one of the most quiet cockpit of an airliner. You obviously newer flew any other aircraft.

If you do a google search, you find lots of different makes and types. Lightweight is relative, but there are lighter ones than the bulky ones. Sporty's, Transair and other online shops are offering online.

hth,
Dani

Denti
14th Sep 2007, 14:41